Boston Music Awards 1999

Date: April 22, 1999
Venue: Orpheum Theatre, Boston

Aerosmith must be crawling under a rock this morning. They won a Grammy and performed on the Oscars this year, but were humbled at the Kahlua Boston Music Awards last night. They won a video award and singer Steven Tyler got his obligatory nod for best male rock vocalist, but that was it. Instead, the big winner was country singer Jo Dee Messina, who waltzed off with three trophies, including the top prize for act of the year.


Jo Dee Messina - Stand Beside Me
(Act of The Year)


Act of the Year

Jo Dee Messina

Rising Star

The Push Stars

Album of the Year

"Smitten" Buffalo Tom

Debut Album of the Year

"Godsmack" Godsmack

Rock Band

Mighty Mighty Bosstones

Debut Rock Band

Big Wreck

Single of the Year

"Stay the Same" Joey McIntyre

Female Vocalist

Jo Dee Messina

Male Vocalist

Steven Tyler


"Me" Paula Cole

Album of the Year (Indie label)

"Just Won't Burn" Susan Tedeschi

Debut Album of the Year (Indie label)

"On Holiday" My Favorite Relative

Single of the Year (Indie label)

"It Hurt So Bad" Susan Tedeschi

Female Vocalist (Indie label)

Susan Tedeschi

Male Vocalist (Indie label)

Ellis Paul

Song/Songwriter (Indie label)

"Take Me Down" Ellis Paul

Video of the Year

"I Don't Want to Miss a Thing" Aerosmith

Local Rock Band

Gigolo Aunts

New Rock Band

My Favorite Relative

Hard Rock/Hardcore Band


Club Band

The Gravel Pit

Ska Band

Big D & The Kids Table

New Ska Band

Kicked in the Head

Rockabilly Band

The Strangemen

Reggae Act

John Brown's Body

Rap/Hip-Hop Act

Ed O.G.

R & B Act


Swing/Lounge Act

Combustible Edison

Jazz Act

Pat Metheny Group

Jazz Album

"Central Avenue" Danilo Perez

Jazz Vocalist

Dominique Eade

Contemporary Folk Act

Martin Sexton

New Contemporary Folk Act

Lori McKenna

Folk Rock Band

Melissa Ferrick

Contemporary Folk Album

"Translucent Soul" Ellis Paul

Debut Contemporary Folk Album

"Veering From the Wave" Jennifer Kimball

Blues Act

Susan Tedeschi

Country Act

Jo Dee Messina

World Music Act

Inca Son


David Minehan


Dana Colley

The Discover Award

Daniel McClain