Boston Music Awards 2020

Date: December 11, 2020

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees. Although the 2020 awards are different from previous years (due to Covid-19), we still hope they bring a little positivity to what has been an incredibly difficult time for all. The winners and nominees all deserve an in-person celebration and we can’t wait to do exactly that — as soon as it’s safe. For now, please continue to stay safe, wear a mask, and recharge as much as you can over the coming weeks. We’ll see you in 2021.


Artist of the Year


New Artist of the Year

Saint Lyor

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Squirrel Flower

Album of the Year

The Ballroom Thieves - Unlovely

Song of the Year

Cliff Notez & Dephrase - Voodoo Doll ft. Latrell James

Video of the Year

Bad Rabbits - WWYD (What Would You Do?)

Alt / Indie Artist of the Year


Americana Artist of the Year

The Wolff Sisters

Blues Artist of the Year

Veronica Lewis

Country Artist of the Year

Ayla Brown

Dance / Electronic Artist of the Year


DJ of the Year


Folk Artist of the Year

The Ballroom Thieves

Hip Hop Artist of the Year


International Artist of the Year

Layth Sidiq

Jazz Artist of the Year

Ezra Platt

Metal Artist of the Year

Needle Play

Pop Artist of the Year

Leo The Kind

Punk / Hardcore Artist of the Year


R&B Artist of the Year

Miranda Rae

Rock Artist of the Year


Singer-Songwriter of the Year

Latrell James

Vocalist of the Year


Session Musician of the Year

Tim Hall

Live Music Venue of the Year

The Sinclair

Intimate Live Music Venue of the Year

Great Scott

Live Production Engineer of the Year

Mike Green

Recording Studio of the Year

Q Division

Studio Producer of the Year

Miranda Serra

Music Promoter of the Year

Carl Lavin

Music Publication of the Year


Music Journalist of the Year

Candace McDuffie

Music Photographer of the Year

Omari Spears

Music Artwork of the Year

Cliff Notez & Dephrase - Social Absence. Artwork by Nick Martin

Music Podcast / Radio Show of the Year

Above The Basement

Live Music Stream of the Year

Virtual Venue - ONCE Somerville

617Sessions Artist of the Year

Red Shaydez - Lemme Go Talk My Sh**



A new category for 2020 designed to celebrate the “behind-the-scene” heroes of our music community. We were absolutely blown away by the response so, rather than selecting one, we’re highlighting the top 10 names based on the public write-in. Listed in alphabetical order.

Alex Allinson

Bridget Duggan

Carl Lavin

Catherine Morris

Chris Hayes

JJ Gonson

Josh Kantor

Marc Picard


Will Dailey